The Octopus Renewable team is co-led by Matt Setchell and Alex Brierley. They are supported by an experienced senior management team who lead the Transactions, Energy Markets, Asset Management, Fund Management and Business Operations teams.



Having originated, invested and managed assets in the renewable energy sector since 2010 our energy investment and asset management team of c.70 professionals is one of the largest and most experienced in Europe. The team is structured for scale and long-term ownership of energy assets.

Meet our co-heads

Matt Setchell

Co-head of Octopus Renewables

Matt is Co-head of Octopus Renewables, a team that he started nine years ago and has built to 70 people with over £3 billion of energy assets under management. During this time, Matt led Octopus’s investment into Lightsource Renewable Energy (now Lightsource BP) and oversaw the growth of that business from start up to exit. He also led the team’s expansion strategy from an initial focus on UK solar PV into on-shore wind and other renewable energy assets across Europe and Australia. Matt is Chairman of Octopus Renewables investment committee and member of Octopus Investment’s Executive Committee. 


Prior to Octopus, Matt was an investment manager at Shore Capital and a manager at PwC. He has an MBA from Cambridge University and an Economics degree from Bristol University. 

Alex Brierley​

Co-head of Octopus Renewables

Alex joined Octopus in 2015 as the Co-head of Octopus Renewables to help develop our energy strategy, originate and structure investments in new areas and to widen our investor relationships. Alex manages Octopus Renewable’s private institutional funds which serve a number of large pension and insurance company investors.  


Prior to joining Octopus, Alex was Director in the Energy and Environmental Infrastructure team at EY LLP where he provided a wide range of corporate and project finance services to leading players in the Renewable Energy industry.  Alex is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland, qualifying in 2003.

Get in touch

Email our team [email protected]